Recess Time

We pass the ball back and forth
on the blacktop
in the driveway

We take turns tossing and catching
bouncing and bracing,
revolving,
stepping in closer and backing up further

to accommodate.

I don’t play catch with you
I don’t make any rules

but I see the limitations
we naturally set
to play.

Whether you receive the ball
or drop it
Whether you laugh and pass
or throw it

I am thankful for your skill
I am thankful for your patience with human error
I am grateful for your willingness to reach out your hands

at all.

Talk at me while I eat

