Mother of Lies

This piece captures the breath I’ve been trying to breathe for a long time.

My Poetry Metronome

She was my guide
with a sign held high
drawing attention to all
she wanted me to see

Never did I doubt
her capacity to deceive

Mother was
the name of god
upon my tongue
and for as long as I believed
you had no reason to leave

When I became aware
I saw through every lie
Turning to truth’s beauty
I left her far behind

But mother is
the name of god
so though trust was gone
you could not stay away

Now I have returned
to cradle her in truth
and forgive the snare
that robbed my youth

Because mother
is the name of god
upon my tongue
and though trust may be lost
forgiveness has been found

View original post

Talk at me while I eat

