Text messages before jumping

You weren’t there to witness
this special moment of my life

Your face no doubt pinched and pulled
Your fear put on the line.

You didn’t even know that I was planning this for weeks

You hid behind your silence
and jumped to join me just in time

to rub your worry on my head
your right to wring and terrify

manifesting in my hand.

I took a deep breath
and shut my eyes
before turning off my phone.

You may have wanted more from me
before I plummeted below

but I only wanted nothing
I just wanted you to go.

Talk at me while I eat

