Worth the Row

You’re right,
it’s not about me.

If it were, there would be drama
harsh words
anger

Undisputed negativity
in this boat of three.

I am glad
you’re right,

because I can adjust my settings
and set to rowing us out to sea

where the air is misty and smells like sunlight
the mountains stretched like hands lifting skyward

where we are in agreement that this water is choppy

but

worth the paperwork, the angry bureaucracy
worth the sacrificing of souls we once knew
worth the row

the sinking manifest
we once thought we’d have.

I row this boat until I am tired
and pickup again when I can

because we are

worth the row.

Talk at me while I eat

