4am Ponderings on Text Messages Received at Noon

Lying in this moonlight
I am flooded with images

Why the night can’t be too dark
the moon refuses to let the night pitch
into complete blackness

and I am grateful

as my thoughts pour in to try and stamp out the light.

Why can’t you understand I am a different person now?
What is keeping you in this way of life?

What is the point-

What is more upsetting
that you thought I had always been honest
or that you still read into what I say?

Nevermind, I know the reason
I reacted this way to your statement

because I was staring into a picture of me
when I heard you say it.

Talk at me while I eat

