Converse

Not enough to watch the waves crash
the sand lash the backs of your knees
the sipping surf closing in on my toes

the soda bubbles in my nose.

We laugh, trading places with gulls
nibbling a cookie bigger than our palms
breaching the barrier cast
in a past between your love and mine

your shadow pall over my heart vine.

Edible conversation, we pucker lips
and offer the air our luscious kiss.
I can’t hear your perfume
or smell your voice
but I know the choice is there

beneath the lot in life unfair.

But we laugh in kind
our foundation layered like honeycomb
the mortar rubbing between our hands
and mutual love for the human we hold

but do not share.

Talk at me while I eat

