Pond Water

I peer into the pond water.
tiny face blurring back at me.
Longing to trail my fingers through,
but afraid to fall into the water.

Stuck onto the dock, legs stretched and sunburnt,
I look at your image in the water,
darkened by your eyes and open in the mouth
your skin a shadow hue against mine.

We stand clear and walk away from each other.

I am in the desert, white sands, blue sky pouring into me
pouring into my eyes with promises of stars and storms
and sweet mirage.

I pull into the sand, swimming a dry stroke
and find a patch of cool to soothe my sunburnt arms
I find the pond of water.

Again I stare into the pond, again my face blurs back at me.
Longing to trail my fingers through,
but afraid of disturbing the water.

Stuck in the sand, desperate to drink and worrying my face into oblivion
I look behind me and want to walk
away from the desert and back to the dock

But I stay until nightfall, where the water turns blacker
and I am inside out, exposed and bleeding
unable to stand.

I pull out a hand mirror from my pocket, staring at my face,
it ripples like water, and I can see myself clearly for the first time.

I look away from the mirror
and the world is blurry.

Talk at me while I eat

