Farther and Further *

I watch the nod of your head,
tracing the sleepiness around your optic nerve

wiping my hands on my skin in obeisance
as your lids begin to close.

I recall the exactitude, the incunabula of your suffering
the quiver of your muscles

and the latent broadside of your misstep
the clerical error of your heart
hopscotching toward me

with little to no trepidation.

I should have shooed you away
fluttered though my feathers felt

I could claim this act as remuneration
and springboard you in a new direction

farther and further from me.

_____

*using the following words of the day:

remunerative – affording to repay; profitable: remunerative work

incunabula-the earliest stages or first traces of anything.

Talk at me while I eat

