Reclassification of Birds

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Cliché.”

Inevitable, this decision.

These words, contradiction,
aching desperation of motion,
the lack of touch, of tactile process

of proper dispensation of roles,
our new word,
friend
and old.

I turn this over in my head, like a coin
amassing a fortune of thoughts.

I want the want I’m wanting now,
the pull of yes and no, and how
fronting the headline of my happiness,

I want the me you’re looking at.
I want to feel the yes I’m seeing,

I want to hear the no you’re feeling
I want the now to be the when.

Talk at me while I eat

