I Know

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “In Due Time.”

It’s not the first time I’ve participated
I’m always on the roster,

my words are now expected.
often between those I know

I’ve been praised and met with silence
at the end of my one-woman show.

It creaks my bones each time,
the ramping before the reaping

The sharing of my latest works
The soul of my unveiling.

To say I’m looking forward
To say I’m anxious to start

To say I’m hoping for freedom
To remain in this worn spot

Is not unlike my roster
my cousins of writing stock

I’m existing there between them
I’m existing

There to speak.

Talk at me while I eat

