Word of the Day Poem: Prithee – pray thee

Why Pray Thee?

When we first met, I stole
a glance at all your poems.

I had to know if you would be privy
to the walking world of words
like me.

On archaic Angelfire, I found
a slew of stanzas using “thee” and “thou”
I felt myself draw back a bit
and ponder your artistic choices.

What was next? “Prithee” or “thine”?
Would you criticize my use of rhyme?

Instead I found you giggling here
Your elementary usage clear

Your words had dried out just fine
And you had forgotten these remained

I didn’t want to think you lied
Or hidden shame behind your hide

So I embraced my newfound Romeo
and thanked the gods he was no Shakespeare.

Talk at me while I eat

