Word of the Day Poem: Pavlovian- of, pertaining to, or characteristic of Pavlov or his work, especially of experiments in which he elicited predictable responses from laboratory animals.

Never Once a Waitress

Wake up
start the coffee

sit down
ask after it

would you like some more?
are you finished with that?

can i take that for you?

These responses
Pavlovian

I am the woman, the caretaker

But now

I belch in your face.
I interrupt your dialogue
I push my way in like wisdom teeth

To win your favor.

Passion wrapped in crass wrapped in polite

A handy dose of candy
to swallow with the bitter dregs

Hop up
Take the cup
Wash the dish

Rinse
Repeat
Reveal.

Talk at me while I eat

