Word of the Day Poem: Zoanthropy – a mental disorder in which one believes oneself to be an animal

Elephants

When we were young,
you and I pretended to be elephants.

We would stomp around on our hands and knees
nodding our heads up with long paper trunks

and sometimes wore grandpa’s gray shoes
the ones with the funny tassels.

Each time we were called by our names
we ignored them,

preferring to announce our arrival to dinner with
an honest imitation of an elephant call

Mine would be more slobber than sound
While your lips on your arm sounded more like a fart

than any elephant I ever heard at the zoo.

Who are we to discredit those who suffer
those zoanthropic people still living under blanket forts

and pretending to be monkeys
or velociraptors

or baby birds

to get through life.

Maybe they never had a brother like you
to call them stupid or childish

when the games had stopped
and the homework piled up and on.

Maybe they had two.

2 thoughts on “Word of the Day Poem: Zoanthropy – a mental disorder in which one believes oneself to be an animal

  1. I wonder sometimes, Ryan, if their were any real jobs. I think I’m a ground hog. I come out briefly, then go back to sleep. Never mind the field mice I eat when I AM out. Ground hogs could eat a Corgi, belch, and eat two more. They’re vicious little critters. Okay, that’s not more. I suppose I’m more a Sloth.

Talk at me while I eat

