Word of the Day Poem: Bovarism – an exaggerated, especially glamorized, estimate of oneself; conceit.

I Keep Telling the Broken Mirror

I am better than this –

this stink of defeat
or stroll of self-pity

the way I look at the sky
and blame the lack of stars for my mood
or scan for my constellation

without any real inclination that I’ll find him.

I am better than this –

the sweat of distress
the cough of discontent

the aversion to running in the sea
for fear of stinking like saltwater
the backskip and stutter
instead of singing out my heart

I am better than this –

the hard stroke of ego to cover the sting
of self-flagellation
the punishment of words and thoughts and terrors
for the trickle of bovarism

for thinking all the pleasures of entitlement are easy.

I am better than this –

than you,

seller of greener pastures
sower of magic potions

I am better than this –

I keep telling the broken mirror.

Talk at me while I eat

