Halfway

“You’re the reason that I feel so strong
The reason that I’m hanging on
You know you gave me all the time
Oh, did I give enough of mine?”

– Vance Joy

There is no forever.

The long lasting days
each a culmination of hours
born from many minutes
and numerous seconds

There is no forever.

The year encompassing each month of moments
of many wicked intentions
and worthwhile choices

of sacrifices
and sitting alone in the night

to keep the painful death of sleep
from dreaming.

There is pleasure in knowing
The foot of tomorrow
begins with the hand of today

and works its way along,
crawling if needed

to meet each minute or hour or daylong breath

halfway.

Talk at me while I eat

