“Ante up and kick in. . .”

On the eve of a weekend where I have set a pretty significant writing goal, I am a little discouraged. Whilst looking for the latest draft of said writing in order to prepare for my weekend, I found a conversation with a close friend of mine, where I was detailing a similar goal and my dedication to its completion by a respectable deadline.

This was in 2012. For the same story.

To add insult to injury, I was to print off this draft at work today, a clean one with no marks on it, so as to not be distracted by previous attempts at this goal. I had the joy of realizing I hadn’t ordered enough toner for the larger printer at work used by my colleagues, and was happy to know the smaller printer I used was still available to me.

The toner for the small printer ran out today.

So not only am I unable to print off my draft, but no one is able to use either printer until Monday. (Never fear, there is yet a third printer, but it’s on the other side of the building, and there is no reason for me to be at that one)

I don’t like to believe in fate, as I prefer random happenstance, and coincidence much more. But this is not boding well for my weekend.

Talk at me while I eat

