“And I don’t know what happened, but I thought I heard you. . .”

“Because,” he said, “I sometimes have a queer feeling with regard to you–especially when you are near to me, as now: it is if I had a string somewhere under my left ribs, tightly and inextricably knotted to a similar string situated in the corresponding quarter of your little frame. And If that boisterous Channel, and two hundred miles or so of land, come broad between us, I am afraid that cord of communion will be snapped; and then I’ve a nervous notion I should take to bleeding inwardly. As for you–you’d forget me.”

~Edward Rochester, Jane Eyre

Talk at me while I eat

