Meditations on breath

Sometimes I listen to a song so many times that I no longer hear the lyrics. I have surpassed the passion the music stirs in me, the emotion it unlocks or enhances. I focus then on the breaths of the singer, right before they sing a line I no longer hear. I find that I do this in times when I am struggling to overcome a loneliness deep in the chasm of my soul. In that moment, what I need from the song is to be connected with the singer, in a way that allows me to feel through their breath that they have felt that which they sing. And on a more instinctive note, that they still breathe at all. That they still exist in this moment with me.

And that brings me peace.

Talk at me while I eat

